Eliminating Barriers in the Way of Our Good Habits

One key question we need to ask

Being a big reader has been a huge part of my identity for pretty much my whole life. However, I seriously don’t think I’ve picked up a book for weeks now.

It’s very unlike me, especially since reading is a habit in which I take a lot of pride. I’ve generally prioritized it even during busy times of grad school or while traveling.

What I have done a lot of lately is think about reading. I’ve felt guilty for not picking up a book. I’ve wished, while sitting on the subway, that I hadn’t left my book at home.

But, I’ve taken no steps to actually pick the habit back up, and I have noticed two key reasons why I’m in a slump.

  1. I have made it harder to get to the habit itself: I generally rent a book from the library on my phone to read on the train. It’s usually an easy read, something that I can consume a few pages of before transferring subway lines. However, I haven’t been reading on my phone, instead opting to play a game or listen to a podcast, which eliminates solid reading time every day.

  2. I have prioritized other habits: I’ve been very into binging a terrible TV show these days to unwind. So, instead of reading at night, I’ve been tuning into the show. This is fine, and I’m trying to give myself grace, but I’m ready to start re-prioritizing some reading time before lounging in front of the TV.

These observations are super simplistic, but I think they beg a great question of us as we work to improve:

How can I eliminate as many barriers as possible to get to my good habit?

If we start to answer that question, I think we’ll find ourselves back on track. I’d love to know how you’re answering it. Feel free to reply directly to this email. Have a great week.

XO, Olivia