Let's build a new habit

Using positive reinforcement to grow

I’m looking to rebuild an old habit.

However, to get myself going, I’m going to attach a reward system.

I know that some people penalize themselves for breaking habits: no desserts without a workout, no TV until they read for 30 minutes, etc. And it does work for some people, but it’s not for me.

I’ve found that positive rewards or working toward something bigger than myself are more effective.

That’s why, as I work to add running back into my workouts, I'll be donating per mile to Everytown for Gun Safety in the month of June. The motivation to give back and do good will help propel me forward more than just setting a lofty goal would.

Also, as a note: Don’t be afraid to make the positive reinforcement totally for you. Put aside $5 every time you don’t procrastinate and treat yourself to a nice dinner at the end of the month. Save a few bucks every time you set aside time to go for a walk and then walk to your favorite clothing store in 30 days to celebrate with a little shopping spree. Tell yourself you'll take a PTO day if you finish a tough project at work.

For me, I've discovered the power of self-positive reinforcement and I hope you will too!

What are your goals for June?

You can donate to Everytown here or send me a flat donation on Vemno (@Olivia-Witherite,) which I will also donate. Thank you so much for subscribing and reading. Please consider sharing the free sign-up link here.