No end goal in sight

... and that's 100% OK

Generally, when I do something, it’s with an end goal or set intention. I’ve taken new jobs so that I can grow in my career. I go for runs so that I can get in the habit of building a healthy lifestyle for when I’m older. I set a reading goal every single year.

However, I’ve started to do some things with no end goal, and it’s been lovely. Beyond that, I think that just trying things on a whim can actually help me in other areas of life.

In my goal-setting, I often leave little room for curiosity. My days tend to be planned down to the hour, and I sometimes feel guilty for just relaxing or wandering around during the weekdays.

Recently, I’ve been working to show myself a little more grace, especially as I find myself getting tired more easily these days. I’ve watched TV shows that intrigue me even if they’re not educational or beneficial to my learning. I’ve started to unwind by reading articles about random things that have nothing to do with my career, and I think that my consumption of “random” subject material is really helping me grow. I’ve become more curious. I’ve seen different perspectives. I’ve understood why other people’s interests are, well, interesting to them.

As someone who generally talks about becoming more focused and productive, I have been taking it a bit easier on myself. It has been eye-opening. It has been fun. It has been necessary.

There’s no grand lesson here beyond the fact that it might be nice to just do something just for fun or to relax. No end goal. No ulterior motive.

But, hey, you might just learn something new anyway.

Want to work together? I’m open to freelance work in the digital and social strategy space. Contact me or get more info here.