Here are the 50+ books I read in 2022

Tell me: What was your favorite read of the year?

I reached my goal of finishing 50 books in 2022, and it truly came down to the wire. As a full-time employee and part-time MBA student, picking up a book was often the last thing I wanted to do after a long day of working and reading business texts.

However, in the last week or so, I truly was reminded that I love to read. And, as of recently, I also really enjoy non-fiction audiobooks. In addition, nine of the 50+ books I read are from AAPI authors!

I have flipped back and forth on putting out the list of books that I read. (Here’s 2020’s.) And that’s oftentimes because I feel as if I read a lot of low-brow stuff. You know how some people relax by flipping on Bravo and watching people at their worst? Well, sometimes to unwind, I read junk.

But, after contemplating this, I have arrived at a stance in which I truly believe: reading almost anything is better and more stimulating than not reading at all. (I’m looking at you, Colleen Hoover stans.)

Reading has helped me learn, forced me to cry, challenged me and made me laugh out loud.

I love reading, and I hope that this list can help get you started. If you are interested in a blog/newsletter on actionable ways I’ve been able to read more, reply to this email or hit me up on Twitter or LinkedIn. You can also follow me on Goodreads.

So, here’s the list! And who knows, I might sneak one or two more books in before the ball drops.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

  • Atomic Habits by James Clear*

  • The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid

  • How to Be Perfect by Michael Schur*

  • How to Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie*

  • Yolk by Mary H.K. Choi

  • Free Food for Millionaires by Min Jin Lee

* These books changed my life.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

  • Malibu Rising by Taylor Jenkins Reid

  • If I Had Your Face by Frances Cha

  • In Five Years by Rebecca Serle

  • Yearbook by Seth Rogan

  • The Vanishing Half by Brit Bennett

  • Is This Anything? by Jerry Seinfeld

  • Wow, No Thank You. by Samantha Irby

  • The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood

  • The Office BFFs by Jenna Fischer, Angela Kinsey

  • Meaty by Samantha Irby

  • Lucie Yi is Not a Romantic by Lauren Ho

  • We Are Never Meeting in Real Life by Samantha Irby

  • Frankly in Love by David Yoon

  • Verity by Colleen Hoover

  • The Cousins by Karen M. McManus

  • This is Marketing: You Can’t Be Seen Until You Learn To See by Seth Godin

  • Another Brooklyn by Jacqueline Woodson

  • Trust Exercise by Susan Choi

  • If I Were the Ocean, I’d Carry You Home by Pete Hsu

⭐️⭐️⭐️

  • Made in Korea by Sarah Suk

  • People We Meet on Vacation by Emily Henry

  • The Last Thing He Told Me by Laura Dave

  • Maybe in Another Life by Taylor Jenkins Reid

  • Famous in Love by Rebecca Serle

  • Two Can Keep a Secret by Karen M. McManus

  • Crisis Management by William Rick Crandall, John A. Parnell & John E. Spillan

  • Investments by Zvi Bodie, Alan J. Marcus & Alex Kane

  • It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover

  • Please Don’t Sit on My Bed in Your Outside Clothes: Essays by Phoebe Robinson

  • June, Reimagined by Rebekah Crane

  • The Fast Forward MBA in Project Management by Eric Verzuh

  • Carrie Soto Is Back by Taylor Jenkins Reid

  • The Maid by Nita Prose

  • The Quarry Girls by Jess Lourey

  • Business-to-Business Marketing by Ross Brennan Louise E. Canning & Raymond McDowell

  • Seen, Heard, and Paid: The New Work Rules for the Marginalized by Alan Henry

  • Lease on Love by Falon Ballard

⭐️⭐️

  • The Wonder Bread Summer by Jessica Anya Blau

  • The Wedding Party by Jasmine Guillory

  • Second First Impressions by Sally Thorne

  • The Maidens by Alex Michaelides

  • Royal Holiday by Jasmine Guillory

  • Party of Two by Jasmine Guillory

  • A Familiar Stranger by A.R. Torre

DNF (I will in 2023! It’s just so long.)

  • 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami

Misc. Stats:

  • 18% of books I read are by Asian or Asian American authors

  • 72% of the books I finished were by non-cis men

  • 100% recommend frequenting your local library

Thank you so much for subscribing and reading. Please consider sharing the free sign-up link here. I’m available for freelance here.